Posted in Blog News, This is VCSSCamp

RT, MT, HT, DM, OH, #hashtag, @mention. What’s all this gubbins then?

Lots of people are still newish to Twitter – here’s a handy tiplist from a friend of mine, James Cattell – he’s also an interesting person to follow on Twitter IMO (in my opinion), as is Simon Whitehouse (mentioned at the end of the blog post)

Public Sector stuff

I use many digital channels to share my ideas, help people and promote organisations doing useful things. But Twitter only allows 140 characters, so I have to be brief.  To save characters, I use abbreviations and other techniques to type more with less.  However, not all my followers understand what I mean.  Hence this blog post.

RT = Re-Tweet = your tweet is very well typed and I’ve decided to share it, as is, without changing a thing.  Well done you!

MT = Modified Tweet = your tweet has a message which I want to share, but I’ve had to modify it before doing so.  “Could do better”, as some teachers used to tell me (please feel free to ask me why I’ve modified your tweet and I’ll happily tell you).

HT = Hat Tip = Congratulations, you have inspired me.  I may not have RT or MT your original…

View original post 294 more words

Author:

I connect charities, communities and funders to improve their practice using data, technology and the web. I do this for VCS SMEs and grassroots minority groups with @RnRWorks, through business support with @ShaktiWomen and through consultancy and communications support. I co-run VCSSCamp and Net Squared Midlands. I like connecting people and ideas, networking and carrot cake & hate people missing out on tech goodness, and brussels sprouts.

Please join in the conversation

